Being A Legal Guardian So Far . . .

Since my best friend (mother) left to mexico almost a year ago with my sisters – Alondra & Mitzi. I love them so much but since they didn’t want to go to school in Mexico & my mom was worried about the people they were hanging out with the wrong crowd and where it would have taken them but I won’t get too much into that. All in all they came back and since they couldn’t live with me they went with their dad. I helped raise these girls while my mom would work to put food on the table, clothes on our backs and a roof over our heads, basically I was a second mom to them.

When my mom made the decision of sending them back to the states with their father she made be a legal guardian which is a smart move & glad she did it. Meaning their dad and I have to get along even though I just want to yell in his face but I’ve learned to keep my cool. When the girls need to get something where someone has to be a citizen that’s where I come in, the good thing about is I can see them whenever I can with no problem – just an obvious heads up.

The girls have a great time when they come over my home but dread when they have to go back to their dad’s home. I wish I didn’t have to let them but I can’t keep them with me. Home is supposed to make you happy not make you dread to going back. Why they dislike it? Simple . . . step-mom. This lady and I have had our fair share of heated discussions but she’s been behaving herself & so have I – I have a very bad temper that so little have seen and I would like to keep it that way.

No parent/guardian wants a phone call from their child saying she doesn’t want to be there or when they are having a hard time getting along with others but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Them calling me or wanting to come straight to my house instead of going else where. I’m glad it only takes one bus to get to them or vise-versa which I’m so thankful for. It’s obvious that no one is perfect and I know that the girls and I will overcome this bump in road together. I love them with all my heart and by the looks of it my mother and I did a fantastic job in raising them. They have the most wonderful and purest hearts and minds. Hope everyone is having a fantastic day and may you have a wonderfully fun-filled and safe weekend! Happy hump day! until next time xoxo – britzy

~ by adlezirb on August 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
